Alexandria, Virginia, USA
July 5, 2016

Congratulations to the winners of the 2016 ASTA Awards, announced during the General Session ceremony at the Annual Convention in Portland!

Larry Nees, Office of Indiana State Chemist, was awarded the Distinguished Service Award which recognizes those who have made significant contributions to the association and the seed industry. For more than 35 years, Larry has served as the seed control official for Indiana, responsible for enforcement and administration of the Indiana Seed Law, the Indiana Seed Arbitration Law, the Indiana Legume Inoculants and Plant Growth Substances Law, and the Inspections Under Seed Contracts Law.

Mike Gumina, RiceTec, Inc., received ASTA’s Lifetime Honorary Membership Award.  This award is one of the highest awards given out by the association and is in recognition of untiring service to the association as well as the seed industry.  Mike has been an active participant in ASTA for years, including service as Chairman of the Board from 2011-2012 and as a key creator of ASTA’s current Strategic Plan which is still in use. He has served as the ISF representative to the ASTA Board and remains a key international figure in forwarding the interests of the American seed industry.

Owen J. Newlin, DuPont Pioneer, was presented the inaugural Lifetime Industry Achievement Award. The award acknowledges exceptional professionals whose career contributions to the seed industry span more than 50 years. Owen is active both in and out of the seed industry. A longtime ambassador and advocate for Iowa State University, and has served as a member of the Board of Regents, State of Iowa, for 12 years, with eight years as president. Owen was also President of the American Seed Research Foundation (ASRF) from 1982-84 and remains an active ASRF Board Member to this day. Owen is the longest running ASTA Past President who remains an active participant on the ASTA Board of Directors to this day.

Source: ASTA – American Seed Trade Association;